Databases and Digital Media Services



This multi-disciplinary database provides full text for more than 4,600 journals, including full text for nearly 3,900 peer-reviewed titles. PDF backfiles to 1975 or further are available for well over one hundred journals, and searchable cited references are provided for more than 1,000 titles.

The Library's subscription to this popular genealogy website is limited to users within the Library itself.  Please visit us!

Find repair and diagnostic information for your car in our easy searchable database! Begin your search by selecting the year, make and model and download easy to read instructions as well as car care tips and up tp date safety alerts. YouTube Tutorial.


Gale Courses (formerly called Learn4Life) offers a wide range of highly interactive, instructor led courses that you can take entirely online.   As a Berwyn library card holder you are entitled to these courses at no cost. Courses run for six weeks and new sessions begin every month.  Video Tutorial

Gale Virtual Reference provides full-text access to over 300 books of subjects ranging from science, to business, to history. Browse an individual book or search the entire collection for information; this site can also be translated into Spanish, French and Portuguese. Video Tutorial

Quickly find your ancestors in over 300 years of historical newspapers, books, pamphlets and government reports. Search over 1,000 newspapers; the American State Papers; US Congressional Serial Set and more. Find obituaries, birth & marriage notices; pension records etc.


History Reference Center offers full text from more than 1,620 reference books, encyclopedias and non-fiction books, cover to cover full text for more than 150 leading history periodicals, nearly 57,000 historical documents, more than 78,000 biographies of historical figures, more than 113,000 historical photos and maps, and more than 80 hours of historical video.


With hoopla digital, Berwyn Library cardholders can borrow, instantly stream and download free dynamic content, including online and mobile access to thousands of Movies, TV Shows, Music, eBooks, Audiobooks and Comics.


Search the catalogs of CARLI (Consortium of Academic and Research Libraries in Illinois) libraries.  Their items may be requested by Berwyn residents through the Reference desk; call 708-795-8000 ext 3087 or email


Providing online full text for many of the top consumer legal reference books, Legal Information Reference Center™ contains more than 310 full-text publications and thousands of legal forms. Many of the full-text legal reference books are provided through Nolo, the nation's oldest and most-respected provider of legal information for consumers and small businesses. This database offers the everyday user the necessary tools and detailed “how-to” instructions to independently address a wide-range of legal issues including business law, financial planning, family law, property & real estate and rights & disputes.

Literary Reference Center Plus™ is a comprehensive database that provides users with a broad spectrum of information on thousands of authors and their works across literary disciplines and timeframes. It has been specifically designed for public libraries, secondary schools, junior/community colleges, and undergraduate research. Literary Reference Center Plus is a full-text database that combines information from major respected reference works, books, literary journals as well as original content from EBSCO Publishing.


This multidisciplinary database provides full text for nearly 1,700 periodicals with full-text information dating as far back as 1975. Covering virtually every subject area of general interest, MasterFILE Premier also contains full text for nearly 500 reference books and over 164,400 primary source documents, as well as an Image Collection of over 592,000 photos, maps & flags. This database is updated daily via EBSCOhost.

Middle Search Plus provides full text for more than 140 popular, middle school magazines. All full text articles included in the database are assigned a reading level indicator (Lexiles). Full text is also available for thousands of biographies and historical essays. Middle Search Plus also contains 84,774 biographies, 105,786 primary source documents, and a School Image Collection of photos, maps and flags.