Databases and Digital Media Services



Noted for its brisk writing style and easy-to-read tabloid format, the Chicago Sun-Times covers politics and government on the local, state and national level and casts a bright spotlight on the lively cultural, entertainment and sports scenes in the third largest city in the country. This daily paper has online content available going back to 1986.

Access the Chicago Tribune -- current issues are full text and indexed, with comprehensive coverage back to 1985. Also includes Proquest Historical Newspapers: Chicago Tribune (1849-1986), which provides easily-searchable first-hand accounts and unparalleled coverage of the politics, society and events of the time.

Consumer Health Complete provides convenient access to easily understandable health and medical information.  Search and browse within medical encyclopedias, popular reference books, and magazine articles. features Ratings and recommendations on thousands of products and services in categories including appliances, cars, electronics and computers, home and garden, health and fitness, babies and kids, food, personal finance, and travel.

The Library's subscription to this database, which provides nonprofit ratings of local service companies and health care providers, is limited to users within the Library itself. Please visit us!


This multi-disciplinary database provides full text for more than 4,600 journals, including full text for nearly 3,900 peer-reviewed titles. PDF backfiles to 1975 or further are available for well over one hundred journals, and searchable cited references are provided for more than 1,000 titles.

Features thousands of cross-referenced entries, covering the entire spectrum of African-American history over the past 500 years.

Spans more than 500 years of political, military, social, and cultural history to cover the American experience.

Offers fast access to more than 600 Native American groups and over 15,000 years of American Indian culture and history.

The Library's subscription to this popular genealogy website is limited to users within the Library itself.  Please visit us!

Presents the full scope of world history from prehistory through the 1500s, with special topic centers on key civilizations and regions.

Find repair and diagnostic information for your car in our easy searchable database! Begin your search by selecting the year, make and model and download easy to read instructions as well as car care tips and up tp date safety alerts. YouTube Tutorial.


This weekly paper has online content available going back to 2009.  

Virtually every course of study — from history to science to literature — is ultimately tied to the study of people. Biography in Context delivers outstanding research support with nearly a million biographical entries spanning history and geography.  Biography in Context is a curriculum-aligned resource that offers media-rich content in context that's updated daily to meet the needs of today’s user. YouTube Tutorial

Find expert criticisms of the works and lives of many great authors, access topics on literary themes, movements and genres, and watch video clips of many full-length classic plays.