Databases and Digital Media Services



Access the Chicago Tribune -- current issues are full text and indexed, with comprehensive coverage back to 1985. Also includes Proquest Historical Newspapers: Chicago Tribune (1849-1986), which provides easily-searchable first-hand accounts and unparalleled coverage of the politics, society and events of the time.

Consumer Health Complete provides convenient access to easily understandable health and medical information.  Search and browse within medical encyclopedias, popular reference books, and magazine articles. features Ratings and recommendations on thousands of products and services in categories including appliances, cars, electronics and computers, home and garden, health and fitness, babies and kids, food, personal finance, and travel.

The Library's subscription to this database, which provides nonprofit ratings of local service companies and health care providers, is limited to users within the Library itself. Please visit us!


Language Learning for Children. Combining animations with over 40 engaging, interactive activities, puzzles, and songs, KidSpeak makes learning a second language easy for kids of all ages. Using the successful immersion approach, children learn a solid foreign language foundation. KidSpeak contains more than 700 words and expressions per language; learn alphabet and word recognition, understanding simple sentences, telling time, correct pronunciation, and more.


Transparent Language Online is a unique application that bridges the gap between learning a language online and using that language in the real world by allowing users to do both in one program. It features a scientifically-proven methodology, a wide variety of high-quality learning material, and seamless integration of real-life language use by native speakers - all packaged together in an easy-to-use interface that can be accessed at any time and from any computer with Internet access.