Databases and Digital Media Services



Noted for its brisk writing style and easy-to-read tabloid format, the Chicago Sun-Times covers politics and government on the local, state and national level and casts a bright spotlight on the lively cultural, entertainment and sports scenes in the third largest city in the country. This daily paper has online content available going back to 1986.

Access the Chicago Tribune -- current issues are full text and indexed, with comprehensive coverage back to 1985. Also includes Proquest Historical Newspapers: Chicago Tribune (1849-1986), which provides easily-searchable first-hand accounts and unparalleled coverage of the politics, society and events of the time.

Consumer Health Complete provides convenient access to easily understandable health and medical information.  Search and browse within medical encyclopedias, popular reference books, and magazine articles. features Ratings and recommendations on thousands of products and services in categories including appliances, cars, electronics and computers, home and garden, health and fitness, babies and kids, food, personal finance, and travel.

The Library's subscription to this database, which provides nonprofit ratings of local service companies and health care providers, is limited to users within the Library itself. Please visit us!


Fiction and Non-Fiction eBooks and Audio Books from Baker and Taylor.  eRead Illinois is supported by the Illinois Secretary of State through the Illinois State Library.  Titles can be found in the SWAN catalog and may be read on a tablet or smartphone.  Find more information here.


Berwyn Library cardholders can download 3 Freegal Music MP3 files each week, and stream 3 hours of music each day, with access to over 7 million songs, including Sony Music Entertainment's catalogue of legendary artists. Freegal Music apps are available in the Apple® App Store and Google Play®.

This database provides over 25,000 encyclopedic entries covering a variety of subject areas.


Gale Courses (formerly called Learn4Life) offers a wide range of highly interactive, instructor led courses that you can take entirely online.   As a Berwyn library card holder you are entitled to these courses at no cost. Courses run for six weeks and new sessions begin every month.  Video Tutorial

Gale Virtual Reference provides full-text access to over 300 books of subjects ranging from science, to business, to history. Browse an individual book or search the entire collection for information; this site can also be translated into Spanish, French and Portuguese. Video Tutorial

Quickly find your ancestors in over 300 years of historical newspapers, books, pamphlets and government reports. Search over 1,000 newspapers; the American State Papers; US Congressional Serial Set and more. Find obituaries, birth & marriage notices; pension records etc.


History Reference Center offers full text from more than 1,620 reference books, encyclopedias and non-fiction books, cover to cover full text for more than 150 leading history periodicals, nearly 57,000 historical documents, more than 78,000 biographies of historical figures, more than 113,000 historical photos and maps, and more than 80 hours of historical video.


With hoopla digital, Berwyn Library cardholders can borrow, instantly stream and download free dynamic content, including online and mobile access to thousands of Movies, TV Shows, Music, eBooks, Audiobooks and Comics.


Search the catalogs of CARLI (Consortium of Academic and Research Libraries in Illinois) libraries.  Their items may be requested by Berwyn residents through the Reference desk; call 708-795-8000 ext 3087 or email


Language Learning for Children. Combining animations with over 40 engaging, interactive activities, puzzles, and songs, KidSpeak makes learning a second language easy for kids of all ages. Using the successful immersion approach, children learn a solid foreign language foundation. KidSpeak contains more than 700 words and expressions per language; learn alphabet and word recognition, understanding simple sentences, telling time, correct pronunciation, and more.