Databases and Digital Media Services



Gale Courses (formerly called Learn4Life) offers a wide range of highly interactive, instructor led courses that you can take entirely online.   As a Berwyn library card holder you are entitled to these courses at no cost. Courses run for six weeks and new sessions begin every month.  Video Tutorial

Gale Virtual Reference provides full-text access to over 300 books of subjects ranging from science, to business, to history. Browse an individual book or search the entire collection for information; this site can also be translated into Spanish, French and Portuguese. Video Tutorial


With hoopla digital, Berwyn Library cardholders can borrow, instantly stream and download free dynamic content, including online and mobile access to thousands of Movies, TV Shows, Music, eBooks, Audiobooks and Comics.


Search the catalogs of CARLI (Consortium of Academic and Research Libraries in Illinois) libraries.  Their items may be requested by Berwyn residents through the Reference desk; call 708-795-8000 ext 3087 or email


Language Learning for Children. Combining animations with over 40 engaging, interactive activities, puzzles, and songs, KidSpeak makes learning a second language easy for kids of all ages. Using the successful immersion approach, children learn a solid foreign language foundation. KidSpeak contains more than 700 words and expressions per language; learn alphabet and word recognition, understanding simple sentences, telling time, correct pronunciation, and more.


Literary Reference Center™ is a comprehensive database that provides users with a broad spectrum of information on thousands of authors and their works across literary disciplines and timeframes. It has been specifically designed for public libraries, secondary schools, junior/community colleges, and undergraduate research. Literary Reference Center is a full-text database that combines information from major respected reference works, books, literary journals as well as original content from EBSCO Publishing.


This multidisciplinary database provides full text for nearly 1,700 periodicals with full-text information dating as far back as 1975. Covering virtually every subject area of general interest, MasterFILE Premier also contains full text for nearly 500 reference books and over 164,400 primary source documents, as well as an Image Collection of over 592,000 photos, maps & flags. This database is updated daily via EBSCOhost.

Middle Search Plus provides full text for more than 140 popular, middle school magazines. All full text articles included in the database are assigned a reading level indicator (Lexiles). Full text is also available for thousands of biographies and historical essays. Middle Search Plus also contains 84,774 biographies, 105,786 primary source documents, and a School Image Collection of photos, maps and flags.


Provides full-text coverage of the Berwyn Suburban Life from 2009-current.

NoveList K-8 Plus is a comprehensive reading resource for fiction and nonfiction. With its fun and intuitive interface, and extensive proprietary content, NoveList K-8 Plus will help you integrate reading across the curriculum and support your young readers.

Find your next great read.  With information on over 250,000 fiction and readable nonfiction titles included, plus feature content including lists of award-winning books, Book Discussion Guides, BookTalks, Recommended Reads and more, NoveList Plus is a complete readers' resource.


Media On Demand was formed in 2009.  The Berwyn Public Library is part of a group of public libraries from the west and south suburbs of Chicago working together to make available e-books, downloadable audiobooks, and other digital content to our users. Titles include fiction and non-fiction items for adults, young adults and children. New titles are regularly added to our shared collection.  Our website is hosted through Overdrive, a worldwide digital media company based in Cleveland, OH.