Gale Courses (formerly called Learn4Life) offers a wide range of highly interactive, instructor led courses that you can take entirely online. As a Berwyn library card holder you are entitled to these courses at no cost. Courses run for six weeks and new sessions begin every month. Video Tutorial
Databases and Digital Media Services
This multidisciplinary database provides full text for nearly 1,700 periodicals with full-text information dating as far back as 1975. Covering virtually every subject area of general interest, MasterFILE Premier also contains full text for nearly 500 reference books and over 164,400 primary source documents, as well as an Image Collection of over 592,000 photos, maps & flags. This database is updated daily via EBSCOhost.
Middle Search Plus provides full text for more than 140 popular, middle school magazines. All full text articles included in the database are assigned a reading level indicator (Lexiles). Full text is also available for thousands of biographies and historical essays. Middle Search Plus also contains 84,774 biographies, 105,786 primary source documents, and a School Image Collection of photos, maps and flags.
With unmatched U.S. news content from local, regional, and national sources, this resource is the largest of its kind. Its diverse source types include printed and online newspapers, blogs, journals, newswires, broadcast transcripts and videos. Explore a specific issue or event through the detailed coverage provided by local reporting or compare a wide variety of viewpoints from across the country on topics such as politics, business, health, sports, cultural activities and people.
NoveList K-8 Plus is a comprehensive reading resource for fiction and nonfiction. With its fun and intuitive interface, and extensive proprietary content, NoveList K-8 Plus will help you integrate reading across the curriculum and support your young readers.
Find your next great read. With information on over 250,000 fiction and readable nonfiction titles included, plus feature content including lists of award-winning books, Book Discussion Guides, BookTalks, Recommended Reads and more, NoveList Plus is a complete readers' resource.
NUWAV Legal Documents believes that providing Citizens with access to legal documents reduces the "justice gap" in America, and provides documents that meet the needs of the everyday citizen. Easily compose documents in categories like business, contracts, landlord/tenant disputes, divorce (including a Divorce Interview feature to guide you step by step through the process) and much, much more.
Media On Demand was formed in 2009. The Berwyn Public Library is part of a group of public libraries from the west and south suburbs of Chicago working together to make available e-books, downloadable audiobooks, and other digital content to our users. Titles include fiction and non-fiction items for adults, young adults and children. New titles are regularly added to our shared collection. Our website is hosted through Overdrive, a worldwide digital media company based in Cleveland, OH.
Points of View is designed to assist researchers in understanding the full scope of controversial subjects. High school and undergraduate students can use Points of View as a guide to debate, developing arguments, writing position papers, and for development of critical thinking skills. Each Points of View Essay includes a series of questions and additional material to generate further thought. Also included are thousands of supporting articles from the world’s top political and societal publications.
Primary Search provides full text for more than 70 popular magazines for elementary school research. All full text articles included in the database are assigned a reading level indicator (Lexiles), and full text information dates as far back as 1990.
ProCitizen - powered by Pronunciator - is an online course that prepares you for the Naturalization Test. With 100 videos, plus interactive drills and quizzes, you will learn everything you need to succeed.