Media On Demand was formed in 2009. The Berwyn Public Library is part of a group of public libraries from the west and south suburbs of Chicago working together to make available e-books, downloadable audiobooks, and other digital content to our users. Titles include fiction and non-fiction items for adults, young adults and children. New titles are regularly added to our shared collection. Our website is hosted through Overdrive, a worldwide digital media company based in Cleveland, OH.
Points of View is designed to assist researchers in understanding the full scope of controversial subjects. High school and undergraduate students can use Points of View as a guide to debate, developing arguments, writing position papers, and for development of critical thinking skills. Each Points of View Essay includes a series of questions and additional material to generate further thought. Also included are thousands of supporting articles from the world’s top political and societal publications.
Primary Search provides full text for more than 70 popular magazines for elementary school research. All full text articles included in the database are assigned a reading level indicator (Lexiles), and full text information dates as far back as 1990.
Access the Chicago Tribune -- current issues are full text and indexed, with comprehensive coverage back to 1985. Also includes Proquest Historical Newspapers: Chicago Tribune (1849-1986), which provides easily-searchable first-hand accounts and unparalleled coverage of the politics, society and events of the time.
Illinois Public Records provided by Record Information Services. Scroll through Chicagoland's public records, real estate transactions, mortgages, foreclosures, and more. Keep an eye on housing values in your community.
Access two extensive databases through Reference USA: U.S. Businesses and U.S. Standard White Pages.
U.S. Businesses contains verified, accurate data for over 14 million U.S. Businesses, and is updated monthly.
Use the U.S. Standard White Pages database of over 89 Million U.S. residents to conduct market research and locate friends and relatives. Records are continuously updated and processed against the USPS National Change of Address (NCOA) and Delivery Sequence File (DSF).
This database provides comprehensive full text coverage for regional business publications. Regional Business News incorporates coverage of more than 80 regional business publications covering all metropolitan and rural areas within the United States.
Science Reference Center is a comprehensive research database that provides easy access to a multitude of full text science-oriented content. This database contains full text for nearly 640 science encyclopedias, reference books, periodicals, etc. Topics covered include: biology, chemistry, earth & space science, environmental science, health & medicine, history of science, life science, physics, science & society, science as inquiry, scientists, technology and wildlife.
Transparent Language Online is a unique application that bridges the gap between learning a language online and using that language in the real world by allowing users to do both in one program. It features a scientifically-proven methodology, a wide variety of high-quality learning material, and seamless integration of real-life language use by native speakers - all packaged together in an easy-to-use interface that can be accessed at any time and from any computer with Internet access.
Unlimited access to a selection of over thirty (30) magazines available to read digitally. Zinio magazines may be read on a wide variety of desktop and mobile apps, including PC, Mac, iPhone, iPad, Android, Kindle Fire/Fire HD, Windows 8, and Blackberry Playbook. Download your free app through their website.