Databases and Digital Media Services



Points of View is designed to assist researchers in understanding the full scope of controversial subjects. High school and undergraduate students can use Points of View as a guide to debate, developing arguments, writing position papers, and for development of critical thinking skills. Each Points of View Essay includes a series of questions and additional material to generate further thought. Also included are thousands of supporting articles from the world’s top political and societal publications.

Primary Search provides full text for more than 70 popular magazines for elementary school research.  All full text articles included in the database are assigned a reading level indicator (Lexiles), and full text information dates as far back as 1990.

Illinois Public Records provided by Record Information Services. Scroll through Chicagoland's public records, real estate transactions, mortgages, foreclosures, and more. Keep an eye on housing values in your community.


This multi-disciplinary database provides full text for more than 4,600 journals, including full text for nearly 3,900 peer-reviewed titles. PDF backfiles to 1975 or further are available for well over one hundred journals, and searchable cited references are provided for more than 1,000 titles.

Features thousands of cross-referenced entries, covering the entire spectrum of African-American history over the past 500 years.

Spans more than 500 years of political, military, social, and cultural history to cover the American experience.

Offers fast access to more than 600 Native American groups and over 15,000 years of American Indian culture and history.

The Library's subscription to this popular genealogy website is limited to users within the Library itself.  Please visit us!

Presents the full scope of world history from prehistory through the 1500s, with special topic centers on key civilizations and regions.

Find repair and diagnostic information for your car in our easy searchable database! Begin your search by selecting the year, make and model and download easy to read instructions as well as car care tips and up tp date safety alerts. YouTube Tutorial.


This weekly paper has online content available going back to 2009.  

Virtually every course of study — from history to science to literature — is ultimately tied to the study of people. Biography in Context delivers outstanding research support with nearly a million biographical entries spanning history and geography.  Biography in Context is a curriculum-aligned resource that offers media-rich content in context that's updated daily to meet the needs of today’s user. YouTube Tutorial

Find expert criticisms of the works and lives of many great authors, access topics on literary themes, movements and genres, and watch video clips of many full-length classic plays.