Databases

Browse: 

P

Points of View is designed to assist researchers in understanding the full scope of controversial subjects. High school and undergraduate students can use Points of View as a guide to debate, developing arguments, writing position papers, and for development of critical thinking skills. Each Points of View Essay includes a series of questions and additional material to generate further thought. Also included are thousands of supporting articles from the world’s top political and societal publications.

Primary Search provides full text for more than 70 popular magazines for elementary school research.  All full text articles included in the database are assigned a reading level indicator (Lexiles), and full text information dates as far back as 1990.

Access the Chicago Tribune -- current issues are full text and indexed, with comprehensive coverage back to 1985. Also includes Proquest Historical Newspapers: Chicago Tribune (1849-1986), which provides easily-searchable first-hand accounts and unparalleled coverage of the politics, society and events of the time.

Illinois Public Records provided by Record Information Services. Scroll through Chicagoland's public records, real estate transactions, mortgages, foreclosures, and more. Keep an eye on housing values in your community.

T

Transparent Language Online is a unique application that bridges the gap between learning a language online and using that language in the real world by allowing users to do both in one program. It features a scientifically-proven methodology, a wide variety of high-quality learning material, and seamless integration of real-life language use by native speakers - all packaged together in an easy-to-use interface that can be accessed at any time and from any computer with Internet access.