Databases and Digital Media Services

Browse: 

P

Points of View is designed to assist researchers in understanding the full scope of controversial subjects. High school and undergraduate students can use Points of View as a guide to debate, developing arguments, writing position papers, and for development of critical thinking skills. Each Points of View Essay includes a series of questions and additional material to generate further thought. Also included are thousands of supporting articles from the world’s top political and societal publications.

Primary Search provides full text for more than 70 popular magazines for elementary school research.  All full text articles included in the database are assigned a reading level indicator (Lexiles), and full text information dates as far back as 1990.

ProCitizen - powered by Pronunciator - is an online course that prepares you for the Naturalization Test.  With 100 videos, plus interactive drills and quizzes, you will learn everything you need to succeed.

ProCitizen - impulsado por Pronunciator - es un curso en línea que lo prepara para la Prueba de Naturalización.  Con 100 videos, más simulacros y ejercicios interactivos, aprenderá todo lo que necesita para tener éxito.

Pronunciator is a fun and free way to learn any of 80 languages with self-directed lessons, live teachers, movies, music, and more.  Learn online, and get our app for your mobile device!

Pronunciator es una manera divertida y fácil de aprender cualquiera de los 80 idiomas disponibles.  ¡Aprende en tu navegador y obtén la app para tu dispositivo móvil!

Illinois Public Records provided by Record Information Services. Scroll through Chicagoland's public records, real estate transactions, mortgages, foreclosures, and more. Keep an eye on housing values in your community.

e

Fiction and Non-Fiction eBooks and Audio Books from Baker and Taylor.  eRead Illinois is supported by the Illinois Secretary of State through the Illinois State Library.  Titles can be found in the SWAN catalog and may be read on a tablet or smartphone.  Find more information here.

F

Berwyn Library cardholders can download 3 Freegal Music MP3 files each week, and stream 3 hours of music each day, with access to over 7 million songs, including Sony Music Entertainment's catalogue of legendary artists. Freegal Music apps are available in the Apple® App Store and Google Play®.

This database provides over 25,000 encyclopedic entries covering a variety of subject areas.

G

Gale Courses (formerly called Learn4Life) offers a wide range of highly interactive, instructor led courses that you can take entirely online.   As a Berwyn library card holder you are entitled to these courses at no cost. Courses run for six weeks and new sessions begin every month.  Video Tutorial

Gale Virtual Reference provides full-text access to over 300 books of subjects ranging from science, to business, to history. Browse an individual book or search the entire collection for information; this site can also be translated into Spanish, French and Portuguese. Video Tutorial

Quickly find your ancestors in over 300 years of historical newspapers, books, pamphlets and government reports. Search over 1,000 newspapers; the American State Papers; US Congressional Serial Set and more. Find obituaries, birth & marriage notices; pension records etc.

H

History Reference Center offers full text from more than 1,620 reference books, encyclopedias and non-fiction books, cover to cover full text for more than 150 leading history periodicals, nearly 57,000 historical documents, more than 78,000 biographies of historical figures, more than 113,000 historical photos and maps, and more than 80 hours of historical video.

h

With hoopla digital, Berwyn Library cardholders can borrow, instantly stream and download free dynamic content, including online and mobile access to thousands of Movies, TV Shows, Music, eBooks, Audiobooks and Comics.

I

Search the catalogs of CARLI (Consortium of Academic and Research Libraries in Illinois) libraries.  Their items may be requested by Berwyn residents through the Reference desk; call 708-795-8000 ext 3087 or email reference@berwynlibrary.org

K

Stream films anytime, anywhere on your preferred devices -- download on the App Store for iPhone, iPad and Apple TV, download on the Play Store for Android devices, download on the Channel Store for Roku, download on the Amazon App Store, and available on Chromecast.  Up to ten (10) titles available per Berwyn Library card per month; titles check out for three (3) days.  Films are available from dozens of cultures and languages.  Visit the Kanopy website for a list of subjects and categories.

Pages