Science Reference Center is a comprehensive research database that provides easy access to a multitude of full text science-oriented content. This database contains full text for nearly 640 science encyclopedias, reference books, periodicals, etc. Topics covered include: biology, chemistry, earth & space science, environmental science, health & medicine, history of science, life science, physics, science & society, science as inquiry, scientists, technology and wildlife.
Databases and Digital Media Services
Noted for its brisk writing style and easy-to-read tabloid format, the Chicago Sun-Times covers politics and government on the local, state and national level and casts a bright spotlight on the lively cultural, entertainment and sports scenes in the third largest city in the country. This daily paper has online content available going back to 1986.
Access the Chicago Tribune -- current issues are full text and indexed, with comprehensive coverage back to 1985. Also includes Proquest Historical Newspapers: Chicago Tribune (1849-1986), which provides easily-searchable first-hand accounts and unparalleled coverage of the politics, society and events of the time.
Consumer Health Complete provides convenient access to easily understandable health and medical information. Search and browse within medical encyclopedias, popular reference books, and magazine articles.
ConsumerReports.org features Ratings and recommendations on thousands of products and services in categories including appliances, cars, electronics and computers, home and garden, health and fitness, babies and kids, food, personal finance, and travel.
The Library's subscription to this database, which provides nonprofit ratings of local service companies and health care providers, is limited to users within the Library itself. Please visit us!
CultureGrams™ is the leading primary source reference for concise, reliable, and up-to-date cultural information on the countries of the world. It goes beyond mere facts and figures to deliver an insider's perspective on daily life and culture, including the history, customs, and lifestyles of the world's people.
Cypress Resume is an easy-to-use tool to help you create a professional resume in a matter of minutes. Designed for job seekers skittish about writing, this program allows anyone to create a perfectly formatted document — one that will stand out to potential employers — with little effort. Simply plug in your basic information (as little or as much as you'd like), and all the hard work is done for you.
Browse a wide selection of non-fiction titles by choosing the "eBooks" link at the top of the landing page. Find their eBook Support Information here.
Fiction and Non-Fiction eBooks and Audio Books from Baker and Taylor. eRead Illinois is supported by the Illinois Secretary of State through the Illinois State Library. Titles can be found in the SWAN catalog and may be read on a tablet or smartphone. Find more information here.
The Award-Winning Resource for Children and Adults; easy to use, and easy to find trusted information. Choose an audience level to get started and research any subject imaginable with access to over 75,000 full-text articles; A to Z browse, subject browse, access dictionaries and notable quotes, as well as classic literature. YouTube Tutorial.