Databases
Search the Berwyn Public Library's databases here
Meet the Staff * Databases * Espanol * Magazines and Newspapers * Berwyn Links * Career Center * Senior Computer Center * Berwyn Library Writer's Group * Special Services
Databases
Business
Business and Company Resource Center - A fully integrated resource bringing together company profiles, brand information, rankings, investment reports, company histories, chronologies and periodicals. Search this database to find detailed company and industry news and information
Small Business Resource Center - Learn how to start, finance or manage your small business. Resources include sample business plans, how to guides, articles and websites.
Career Information
Coin Career Library - Find your perfect career! Take an assessment test, search for schools and create a resume
Criminal Justice Collection- Whether studying to become a lawyer or law enforcement officer, paralegal, or for a career in Homeland Security, this collection rises to the challenge. Users will have access to 150 journals
Glassdoor.com - A comprehensive career resource with information on thousands of companies. Glassdoor includes salary and bonuses and details for specific jobs at specific companies, as well as actual interview questions and hiring process details. Also included are reviews written by employees that highlight the pro's and con's of working for a particular employer
Hospitality, Tourism and Leisure Collection - With current and relevant content from over 500 industry journals, this collection provides well-rounded coverage of both the historical and current state of affairs in the hospitality and tourism field, while also allowing for focused study of specialized aspects of the industry - including cultural aspects of travel, leisure activities, economic aspects of tourism, and more
Learning Express Library - Search many different interactive practice tests and receive immediate scoring and complete answer explanations. Included are: ACT, SAT, GED, GRE, ASVAB, Law Enforcement, U.S. Citizenship and many more
LegalTrac- Students, law school faculty and legal researchers will all find the legal publications they need in LegalTrac®. Drawing on a wide variety of the most highly regarded legal publications, LegalTrac® provides indexing for more than 1,400 titles including major law reviews, legal newspapers, bar association journals and international legal journals. Each title included in LegalTrac® is selected on the basis of criteria provided by a special advisory committee of the American Association of Law Libraries. LegalTrac® also contains law-related articles from over 1,000 additional business and general interest titles
Nursing and Allied Health Collection - All aspects of the Nursing profession -- from direct patient care to health care administration -- are covered in this collection. Including nearly 400 titles, this collection's current and authoritative content will be of use to both professionals already working in the field as well as students pursuing a nursing-focused curriculum
Computers
Computer Database-Use this database to find computer-related product introductions, news and reviews in areas such as hardware, software, electronics, engineering, communications and the application of technology
Education (K-8)
Kids InfoBits - A database developed especially for beginning researchers in Kindergarten through Grade 5. Featuring a developmentally appropriate, visually graphic interface, the most popular search method is moving from a broad subject to a narrower topic using the subject-based topic tree. The curriculum-related, age appropriate, full-text content is from the best elementary reference sources and magazines. This database covers geography, current events, the arts, science, health, people, government, history, sports and more
World Book Super Home Page - The most popular set of encyclopedias come to life! Beautiful color pages to explore countries, animals, art, games, science projects and lots of help with homework. Find help with research help including a handy citation builder and information on primary sources.
Education/Research
Academic OneFile -The premier source for peer-reviewed, full-text articles from the world's leading journals and reference sources. With extensive coverage of the physical sciences, technology, medicine, social sciences, the arts, theology, literature and other subjects, Academic OneFile is both authoritative and comprehensive. With millions of articles available in both PDF and HTML full-text with no restrictions, researchers are able to find accurate information quickly. Includes full-text coverage of the New York Times back to 1995. Updated daily
Biography Resource Center - Biographies with related full-text articles from magazines and newspapers, thousands images, and links to vetted websites. Search for current or historic figures based on name, occupation, nationality, ethnicity, birth/death dates and places, or gender, as well as keyword and full text. Fully integrated, the Lives & Perspectives Collection module offers nearly 160,000 concise and in-depth biographies drawn from subject encyclopedias published under the highly respected Macmillan, Scribner and Gale imprints
Communications and Mass Media Collection -From marketing professionals to students studying for advanced degrees in linguistic theory, this collection provides current and accurate information from more than 100 journals focused on all aspects of the communications field. Key subjects covered include: advertising and public relations, literature and writing, linguistics, and many more
Educator's Reference Complete - Educator's Reference Complete is a selection of more than 450 full-text academic journals, hundreds of full-text reports, and many premier reference sources. Included content focuses on educational principles, child development and psychology, and best practices in education. Majority of the full-text titles included are also found in the ERIC database. The database is updated daily and provides 24-hour access from school or home
Encyclopedia Britannica - Research any subject imaginable with access to over 75,000 full-text articles; A to Z browse, subject browse, access dictionaries and notable quotes, as well as classic literature
Environmental Studies and Policy Collection - Providing robust coverage of the field of environmental issues and policy, this collection, which includes nearly 200 journals, provides instant access to the multiple viewpoints of this volatile field of study, including perspectives from the scientific community, governmental policy makers, as well as corporate interests
Fine Arts and Music Collection - With more than 100 full-text magazines and journals covered in databases such as the Wilson Art Index and RILM, this collection will provide your students with resources to support research in areas such as drama, music, art history, and filmmaking
FirstSearch - Please call the Reference Department at (708) 795-8000 X 3038, for the password to access this comprehensive database featuring WorldCat and Medline
Gale Virtual Reference - Gale Virtual Reference provides full-text access to over 300 books of subjects ranging from science, to business, to history. Browse an individual book or search the entire collection for information; this site can also be translated into Spanish, French and Portuguese
General OneFile-A one-stop source for news and periodical articles on a wide range of topics: business, computers, current events, economics, education, environmental issues, health care, hobbies, humanities, law, literature and art, politics, science, social science, sports, technology, and many general interest topics. Millions of full-text articles, many with images. Updated daily
Grolier - The most authoritative, age-appropriate research and learning resource on the Web today. With two learning environments, eight curriculum-aligned databases and over 500,000 links to academically-relevant articles, Web sites and periodicals, Grolier Online is the most trusted first stop in research for students, educators, librarians and parents
History Reference Center - Offers full text from more than 2500 reference books, encyclopedias and non-fiction books, cover to cover full text for nearly 170 leading history periodicals, and more than 112,000 historical documents, photos, maps and videos
History Resource Center (US) - History Resource Center: U.S. provides integrated access to over 4,000 historical (primary) documents, articles from more than 30 reference titles, and over 110 full-text journal covering themes, events, individuals and periods in U.S. history from pre-Colonial times to the present. The material also includes citations from over 180 additional history journals from the Institute for Scientific Information's Arts and Humanities Citation Index, as well as the entire "American Journey Online" series
History Resource Center (World) - A comprehensive collection of award-winning reference, full-text articles from leading scholarly publications, an array of primary sources, images, maps and charts which provide expansive geographic and chronologic research materials for the study of world history. From ancient Europe to Latin America and from the Far East to the Renaissance, world history curricula is supported with over 1,800 primary sources, over 27 reference titles and more than 110 journals
Illinet - Search public, academic and special libraries throughout the state of Illinois
Infotrac Newsstand - InfoTrac Newsstand is an innovative Web-based full-text newspaper database which allows users to search articles instantly by title, headline, date, newspaper section or other assigned fields. Finally, a one-stop source for the day's news and searchable archives. You can customize your online newspaper database features including search options. With InfoTrac Newsstand, you can search a collection of more than 1,000 newspapers, then select your own screen appearance, search options and results format
Learning Express Library - Search many different interactive practice tests and receive immediate scoring and complete answer explanations. Included are: ACT, SAT, GED, GRE, ASVAB, Law Enforcement, U.S. Citizenship and many more
LegalTrac- Students, law school faculty and legal researchers will all find the legal publications they need in LegalTrac®. Drawing on a wide variety of the most highly regarded legal publications, LegalTrac® provides indexing for more than 1,400 titles including major law reviews, legal newspapers, bar association journals and international legal journals. Each title included in LegalTrac® is selected on the basis of criteria provided by a special advisory committee of the American Association of Law Libraries. LegalTrac® also contains law-related articles from over 1,000 additional business and general interest titles
Literature Criticism Online - Imagine centuries of scholarly and popular commentary delivered in a user friendly format; thousands of essays at your fingertips
Literatue Resource Center - Up-to-date biographical information, overviews, full-text literary criticism and reviews on more than 130,000 writers in all disciplines, from all time periods and from around the world. The optional MLA International Bibliography module adds citations for hundreds of thousands of books, articles and dissertations from 1926 to the present, linked to full text where available
LitFinder - Covering world literature and authors throughout history, LitFinder contains a wealth of literary works including over 150,000 full-text poems and 800,000+ poetry citations, as well as short stories, speeches, and plays. For students or patrons seeking a deeper view into literature, LitFinder also includes secondary materials like biographies, images, and more! From Shakespeare's sonnets to poems by Donald Hall or short stories from Edgar Allan Poe to works by Annie Proulx, LitFinder has you covered
Literature Criticism Online - The largest, most extensive compilation of literary commentary available Imagine centuries of analysis - the scholarly and popular commentary from broadsheets, pamphlets, encyclopedias, books and periodicals - delivered in an easy-to-use 24/7 online format that matches the exact look and feel of the print originals. The net result is tens of thousands of hard-to-find essays at your fingertips. It's all designed to raise the level of research while providing the around-the-clock remote access that today's researchers demand
Literary Reference Center - Browse authors and works of literature, research literary criticism and get help with popular citation styles including APA. MLA and The Chicago Manual of Style
Magazines (EBSCO) Search for full-text articles covering virtually every subject area of general interest in popular magazines, scholarly journals and newspapers
Newspapers (NEWSBANK) Access full-text newspapers from across the USA from 1992 to the present, as well as articles from The Chicago Tribune, The Chicago Sun Times, RedEye, and The Daily Herald; Search The Chicago Tribune Historical Archive dating back to 1850
Novelist - Can help you find your next great read. With information on over 250,000 fiction and readable nonfiction titles included, plus feature content including lists of award-winning books, Book Discussion Guides, BookTalks, Recommended Reads and more, NoveList Plus is a complete readers' resource
Nursing and Allied Health Collection - All aspects of the Nursing profession -- from direct patient care to health care administration -- are covered in this collection. Including nearly 400 titles, this collection's current and authoritative content will be of use to both professionals already working in the field as well as students pursuing a nursing-focused curriculum
Opposing Viewpoints A one-stop source for information on today's hottest social issues. Drawing on acclaimed series published by Greenhaven Press and other Gale imprints, OVRC features viewpoint articles, topic overviews, full-text magazine, academic journal, and newspaper articles, primary source documents, statistics, images and podcasts, and links to Websites. New to the database are Lexile reading levels for periodicals and an integrated national and state curriculum standards search with content correlated to the standards
Points Of View - Find current information about controversial topics in this comprehensive database that offers both sides of an argument or opinion on such diverse topcs as religion, race and culture, abortion, censorship and many other important issues. Find help here on writing thesis statements and also learn how to properly use citations in your essay
Public Records Online - Illinois Public Records provided by Record Information Services. Scroll through Chicagoland's public records, real estate transactions, mortgages, foreclosures, and more. Keep an eye on housing values in your community and help safeguard your biggest investment - your home. Sort by name, city, zip code, and more. Record Information Services is a 17 year old data compiler of public records serving the Chicagoland area
Psychology Collection - This set explores what makes people "tick" from childhood to death. This collection gives individuals a basic understanding of the study of the mind, emotions and how the human mind develops -- and diminishes -- over time. Your library's users will have instant access to 200 subject-appropriate full-text periodicals
Science Online - A wealth of information about all things science! Browse suggestions for experiments, search such diverse and comprehensive topics as Biology, Chemistry, Physics, Computer Science, Forensic Science, Space and Astronomy, and Weather and Climate. Today's Science Feature gives a daily introduction of a scientific topic in depth and Science in The News streams up-to-the-minute news. Watch videos and animations on science topics
Science Resource Center - Researching science topics has never been easier -- with Science Resource Center, thousands of topic overviews, experiments, biographies, pictures and illustrations are just a few clicks away and the latest scientific developments are covered in articles from over 200 magazines and academic journals and links to quality web sites. The database covers curriculum-related science topics and offers teachers an easy-to-use tool to identify content directly correlated to state and national standards
Student Research Center Gold - Student Resource Center - Gold offers easy access to award-winning content based on national curriculum standards. Covering all core curriculum areas, including history, literature, science, social studies, and more, SRC - Gold provides a premium selection of reference material, more than 1,100 full-text periodicals and newspapers, primary sources, creative works, and multimedia, including hours of video and audio clips and podcasts. Premier reference content includes the American Journey Series, American Decades, Career Information Center and the SRC Health Module. New to the database are Lexile reading levels for periodicals, an integrated national and state curriculum standards search with content correlated to the standards, and popular topic pick lists
World Book Super Home Page - The most popular set of encyclopedias come to life! Beautiful color pages to explore countries, animals, art, games, science projects and lots of help with homework. Find help with research help including a handy citation builder and information on primary sources.
WorldCat - WorldCat is the world's largest network of library content and services. WorldCat lets you search the collections of libraries in your community and thousands more around the world. WorldCat grows every day thanks to the efforts of librarians and other information specialists
Health and Wellness
Health and Wellness Resource Center and Alternative Health Collection - instant access to carefully compiled and trusted medical reference materials. Includes nearly 400 health/medical journals, hundreds of pamphlets, over 700 health-related videos from partner Healthology, Inc., and articles from 2,200 general interest publications in addition to a broad collection of Gale reference titles. Material contained in this Resource Center is intended for informational purposes only
Nursing and Allied Health Collection - All aspects of the Nursing profession -- from direct patient care to health care administration -- are covered in this collection. Including nearly 400 titles, this collection's current and authoritative content will be of use to both professionals already working in the field as well as students pursuing a nursing-focused curriculum
Psychology Collection - This set explores what makes people "tick" from childhood to death. This collection gives individuals a basic understanding of the study of the mind, emotions and how the human mind develops -- and diminishes -- over time. Your library's users will have instant access to 200 subject-appropriate full-text periodicals
History
History Reference Center - Offers full text from more than 2500 reference books, encyclopedias and non-fiction books, cover to cover full text for nearly 170 leading history periodicals, and more than 112,000 historical documents, photos, maps and videos
History Resource Center (US) - History Resource Center: U.S. provides integrated access to over 4,000 historical (primary) documents, articles from more than 30 reference titles, and over 110 full-text journal covering themes, events, individuals and periods in U.S. history from pre-Colonial times to the present. The material also includes citations from over 180 additional history journals from the Institute for Scientific Information's Arts and Humanities Citation Index, as well as the entire "American Journey Online" series
History Resource Center (World) - A comprehensive collection of award-winning reference, full-text articles from leading scholarly publications, an array of primary sources, images, maps and charts which provide expansive geographic and chronologic research materials for the study of world history. From ancient Europe to Latin America and from the Far East to the Renaissance, world history curricula is supported with over 1,800 primary sources, over 27 reference titles and more than 110 journals
Home Improvement and Repair
Auto Repair Reference Center - Find repair and diagnostic information for your car in our easy searchable database! Begin your search by selecting the year, make and model and download easy to read instructions as well as car care tips and up tp date safety alerts
Culinary Arts Collection -The Culinary Arts collection includes 150 of the major cooking and nutrition magazines. Coverage includes thousands of searchable recipes, restaurant reviews, and industry information
Gardening, Landscape and Horticulture Collection - Farmers, landscape architects, and biotechnologists alike will have their information appetites sated with this collection of nearly 50 journals focused specifically on key issues in gardening, landscaping, and other areas of horticulture. A fertile and growing collection, this collection includes content relating to both the practical aspects as well as the scientific theory of horticulture studies
Home Improvement Collection - Even the smallest home improvement project can be daunting: with this collection of nearly 100 home improvement focused titles, hobbyists and professional carpenters alike will immediately put their projects on a more solid foundation. Coverage includes such topics as architectural techniques, tool and material selection, zoning requirements, and many more
Small Engine Repair - Search full-text repair manuals for lawn mowers, motorcycles, snow blowers and other machines
Literature
Literature Criticism Online - Imagine centuries of scholarly and popular commentary delivered in a user friendly format; thousands of essays at your fingertips
Literature Resource Center - Up-to-date biographical information, overviews, full-text literary criticism and reviews on more than 130,000 writers in all disciplines, from all time periods and from around the world. The optional MLA International Bibliography module adds citations for hundreds of thousands of books, articles and dissertations from 1926 to the present, linked to full text where available
LitFinder - Covering world literature and authors throughout history, LitFinder contains a wealth of literary works including over 150,000 full-text poems and 800,000+ poetry citations, as well as short stories, speeches, and plays. For students or patrons seeking a deeper view into literature, LitFinder also includes secondary materials like biographies, images, and more! From Shakespeare's sonnets to poems by Donald Hall or short stories from Edgar Allan Poe to works by Annie Proulx, LitFinder has you covered
Literature Criticism Online - The largest, most extensive compilation of literary commentary available Imagine centuries of analysis - the scholarly and popular commentary from broadsheets, pamphlets, encyclopedias, books and periodicals - delivered in an easy-to-use 24/7 online format that matches the exact look and feel of the print originals. The net result is tens of thousands of hard-to-find essays at your fingertips. It's all designed to raise the level of research while providing the around-the-clock remote access that today's researchers demand
Literary Reference Center - Browse authors and works of literature, research literary criticism and get help with popular citation styles including APA. MLA and The Chicago Manual of Style
Novelist - Can help you find your next great read. With information on over 250,000 fiction and readable nonfiction titles included, plus feature content including lists of award-winning books, Book Discussion Guides, BookTalks, Recommended Reads and more, NoveList Plus is a complete readers' resource
Magazines and Newspapers
Informe-A collection of Hispanic magazines with full text. Covers business, health, technology, culture, current topics and other subjects
Infotrac Newsstand - InfoTrac Newsstand is an innovative Web-based full-text newspaper database which allows users to search articles instantly by title, headline, date, newspaper section or other assigned fields. Finally, a one-stop source for the day's news and searchable archives. You can customize your online newspaper database features including search options. With InfoTrac Newsstand, you can search a collection of more than 1,000 newspapers, then select your own screen appearance, search options and results format
Magazines (EBSCO) Search for full-text articles covering virtually every subject area of general interest in popular magazines, scholarly journals and newspapers
Newspapers (NEWSBANK) Access full-text newspapers from across the USA from 1992 to the present, as well as articles from The Chicago Tribune, The Chicago Sun Times, RedEye, and The Daily Herald; Search The Chicago Tribune Historical Archive dating back to 1850
Science
Agriculture Collection - With broad coverage of agriculture and its related fields, this collection provides a comprehensive view of this growing body of knowledge. Comprised of nearly 200 titles, researchers will have access to current and authoritative content that spans the industry -- from practical aspects of farming to cutting edge scientific research in horticulture
Environmental Studies and Policy Collection - Providing robust coverage of the field of environmental issues and policy, this collection, which includes nearly 200 journals, provides instant access to the multiple viewpoints of this volatile field of study, including perspectives from the scientific community, governmental policy makers, as well as corporate interests
Science Online - A wealth of information about all things science! Browse suggestions for experiments, search such diverse and comprehensive topics as Biology, Chemistry, Physics, Computer Science, Forensic Science, Space and Astronomy, and Weather and Climate. Today's Science Feature gives a daily introduction of a scientific topic in depth and Science in The News streams up-to-the-minute news. Watch videos and animations on science topics
Science Resource Center - Researching science topics has never been easier -- with Science Resource Center, thousands of topic overviews, experiments, biographies, pictures and illustrations are just a few clicks away and the latest scientific developments are covered in articles from over 200 magazines and academic journals and links to quality web sites. The database covers curriculum-related science topics and offers teachers an easy-to-use tool to identify content directly correlated to state and national standards
Spanish Language
Acceda Noticias - Research Spanish language newspapers from across the USA and countries around the world
Informe-A collection of Hispanic magazines with full text. Covers business, health, technology, culture, current topics and other subjects
Available in the library only:
Ancestry.com - Search immigration and census information, as well as birth, death and marriage records from the SSDI, includes UK census as well dating back to 1790
CQResearcher-Research in-depth, non-biased information of current issues
Grant Source - Database from Donor's Forum of Chicago
.
.
.
.
